Software

Current development project

CATMA/CLÉA is a general purpose markup and text analysis tool, available as a desktop application for Mac und Windows PC (up to version 3.0 / 2011) and more lately as a web enabled, browser based application for collaborative annotation of texts and corpora.

Past developments

The main theoretical contexts – i.e., action philosophy and narratological theory of action – that form the background of the following two applications are discussed in detail in my book  Computing Action. A Narratological Approach, Berlin und New York (de Gruyter) 2003.

  • EventMarker is a markup tool for identifying and semantically annotating narrated (diegetic) events in narrative texts.  The application was developed as part of the Computing Action-project.
  • EpiTest is a program that analyses the possibility to construe complex action sequences on the basis of elementary events that were annotated using EventMarker. The application was developed as part of the Computing Action-project.

The following three applications were developed in the context of the Temporality Effect project:

  • TempusMarker  is an annotation tool for the markup of time expressions and time operators which allow us, the readers of these texts, to build the mental construct of an ordered time structure that organizes a represented world, and/or the representational acts itself.
  • TempusParser is a theoretical workflow model for a logic algorithm that processes tagged time information.
  • TempusPlotter models and visualizes time structures represents that are generated on the basis of tagged time expressions and time operators.

Software

Aktuelle Entwicklung:

CATMA ist eine Textanalyse und Markup-Software für Mac und Windows PC (bis Version 3.0 / 2012) und seit kürzerem auch als eine browserbasierte und webfähige Applikation für die kollaborative Annotation und Analyse von Texten und Korpora.

Abgeschlossene Entwicklungen:

Der handlungsphilosophische wie narratologische Kontext, in dem dies beiden folgenden Programme entwickelt wurden, wird in meinem Buch Computing Action. A Narratological Approach, Berlin und New York (de Gruyter) 2003 zur Diskussion gestellt.

  • EventParser ist ein MarkUp-Tool, mit dem Leser die in einem erzählenden Text identifizierten Ereignisse erfassen und semantisch definieren können.
  • EpiTest ist ein Programm, das die Möglichkeiten zur Konstruktion komplexer Handlungen auswertet, die sich auf der Grundlage der mit EventMarker definierten elementaren Ereignisse ergeben.

Die drei folgenden Softwarekomponenten wurden im Rahmen des gemeinsam mit Günter Dammann bearbeiteten Forschungsprojekts zum sog. ‘Temporalitätseffekt’ entwickelt. Unser erzähltheoretischer und zeitphilosophischer Neuansatz zur Frage der zeitlichen Strukturierung von Erzählen und Erzähltem wird u.a. in dem Artikel Tagging Time in Prolog vorgestellt.

  • TempusMarker bezeichnet ein MarkUp-Programm, mit dem Ausdrücke und Textelemente in erzählenden Texten gekennzeichnet werden, die uns als Leser in die Lage versetzen, die Vorstellung einer zeitlichen Ordnung in einer erzählten Welt zu generieren.
  • TempusParser ist ein theoretisches Workflow-Modell eines Algorithmus, der getaggte Zeitinformationen logisch verarbeiten kann
  • TempusPlotter modelliert und repräsentiert in graphischer Form die mit Hilfe der Zeitausdrücke gebildeten Zeitstrukturen.